Archived Gardening Message Boards

Topic: Edible Plants

<< Back to message boards home
<< Back to Edible Plants

View Thread:
What type of soil for mini vegetable garden?

What type of soil for mini vegetable garden?
Posted by Kim from Ontario on 2002-05-23 08:52:05

Hello there! I'm very new to the whole gardening thing, and would like some advice for a container vegetable garden. I am unable to plant directly into the ground, and have decided to experiment with a couple of vegetables in a container. The vegetables I've chosen are parsely, yellow pepper, radish and leaf lettuce. I would
like to know what kind of soil to use as well as any other helpful advice. Can I plant them all in the same container, or should I use separate containers? What type of container should I buy?

Thanks very much in advance for your help with this!

• Soil and pots for veggies
    Posted by Newt from Maryland zone 7 on 2002-05-27 02:00:23

Quoting Kim: ------------
    -Hello there! I'm very new to the whole gardening thing, and would like some advice for a container vegetable garden. I am unable to plant directly into the ground, and have decided to experiment with a couple of vegetables in a container. The vegetables I've chosen are parsely, yellow pepper, radish and leaf lettuce. I would
    -like to know what kind of soil to use as well as any other helpful advice. Can I plant them all in the same container, or should I use separate containers? What type of container should I buy?

-Thanks very much in advance for your help with this!

You could plant everything in the same pot but it would have to be very large. Since this is new to you, I would suggest you try separate pots. Use a good grade of potting soil.

You will need to fertilize and since you will be eating what you plant, I recommend something like fish emulsion. It doesn't smell very good, but you can also water the leaves of your plants for what is called foliar feed.