Topic: Edible Plants

<< Back to message boards home
<< Back to Edible Plants

View Thread:
Composting directly in patio pots?

Composting directly in patio pots?
Posted by Laura from Seville (Spain) on 2002-05-02 14:28:32

Hi to everyone!

I am a novice gardener (and apartment-dweller) & currently have several tomatoes, peppers and eggplants planted in containers on my balcony, where they get full direct sunshine all day long. They seem to be doing fine so far, but I'm worried about the nutrient levels in the soil, just a basic potting mix...don't have space for making compost, and don't want to use a non-organic liquid fertilizer since, among other things, I've heard they weaken flavor. Also, in my area (southern Spain) it's not easy to find organic fertilizers. So...what can I do? Is it possible to enrich the soil in these pots by composting in them directly --for example, by burying bits of vegetable peels etc.? I already add coffee grinds now and then, but would like to do a bit more. Any suggestions?

Thanks a lot!
Laura in Spain
  • Composting
    Posted by Newt from Maryland zone 7 on 2002-05-03 00:18:07

Quoting Laura: ------------
    -Hi to everyone!

-I am a novice gardener (and apartment-dweller) & currently have several tomatoes, peppers and eggplants planted in containers on my balcony, where they get full direct sunshine all day long. They seem to be doing fine so far, but I'm worried about the nutrient levels in the soil, just a basic potting mix...don't have space for making compost, and don't want to use a non-organic liquid fertilizer since, among other things, I've heard they weaken flavor. Also, in my area (southern Spain) it's not easy to find organic fertilizers. So...what can I do? Is it possible to enrich the soil in these pots by composting in them directly --for example, by burying bits of vegetable peels etc.? I already add coffee grinds now and then, but would like to do a bit more. Any suggestions?

-Thanks a lot!
    -Laura in Spain