Archived Gardening Message Boards

Topic: Landscaping & Garden Care

<< Back to message boards home
<< Back to Landscaping & Garden Care

View Thread:
New Yard

New Yard
Posted by Jane (bajjej@yahoo.com) from Wisconsin Zone on 2002-03-03 21:14:03

Hi! I've been surfing the internet for a few months now trying to get ideas for our "new" yard. We built our house just about 3 years ago. Right up until we built here, the land had been farmed. We're smack dab in the middle of nothingness and are ready to plant some definition/boundaries to our yard. (The lawn is established), so it's time to move up and out with growing things. My biggest dilema is where to start!!!??? I'd like to start with "natural" hedges vs. fences, as we have an acre of land in a western-wind area (we lost the west wall of our garage the first week we were here due to "tornado" winds), so fencing would just end up in the neighbor's yard. Hedges in-and-of-itself is easy enough to pick out (looking at Juniper), but the ol' purse-strings won't support THAT many hedges. I've been kicking the idea around of tall, ornamental grasses (i.e. canegrass, etc.) but am concerned that it would look oppy, just plopping clumps about here and there. If you're so inclined to respond ~ thanks so much. Sincerely, Jane
  • New Yard
    Posted by Newt from Maryland zone 7 on 2002-04-12 07:33:52

Quoting Jane: ------------