Archived Gardening Message Boards

Topic: Landscaping & Garden Care

<< Back to message boards home
<< Back to Landscaping & Garden Care

View Thread:
Design Project

Design Project
Posted by Paul Gillam (paul@gillam.com) from Nottingham, UK on 2002-02-04 06:31:03

I am a design student at university, i am designing a device to supersede a traditional watering can. it will eliminate lifting & carrying a water filled container, and will have a propelling system to push the water out over one's plants, using kinetic energies (i.e. walking) around a gardening person (imagine using a vacuum cleaner). it is also not attached to a hosepipe.
my query: firstly, what time of year do people water their gardens?
secondly, what is the age range of typical gardeners (i.e. 25-80), and therefore how much body movement would be appropriate for such a device? taking into account ageing joints etc.
thirdly, what in a garden is usually watered? e.g. flower beds, hanging baskets, lawn feeding... etc.
and finally, how much money would you be willing to spend on a device that would make general watering that much easier?
  • Design Project
    Posted by Daryl from Georgia/Zone 7 on 2002-02-09 16:07:08

Quoting Paul Gillam: ------------
    -I am a design student at university, i am designing a device to supersede a traditional watering can. it will eliminate lifting & carrying a water filled container, and will have a propelling system to push the water out over one's plants, using kinetic energies (i.e. walking) around a gardening person (imagine using a vacuum cleaner). it is also not attached to a hosepipe.
    -my query: firstly, what time of year do people water their gardens?
    -secondly, what is the age range of typical gardeners (i.e. 25-80), and therefore how much body movement would be appropriate for such a device? taking into account ageing joints etc.
    -thirdly, what in a garden is usually watered? e.g. flower beds, hanging baskets, lawn feeding... etc.