Archived Gardening Message Boards

Topic: Houseplants & Indoor Gardening

<< Back to message boards home
<< Back to Houseplants & Indoor Gardening

View Thread:
White fuzzy dots on indoor palm

White fuzzy dots on indoor palm
Posted by Maria from IL on 2006-01-12 08:16:00

I got a great deal at Home Depot in mid-Sept '05 on a couple of indoor palms. The label referred to them as Palmaceae. They were beautiful - healthy with new shoots - I was so excited. About four weeks ago, white fuzzy dots started to appear on one of them. The dots are somewhat sticky; and between the leaves, it looks like there is some webbing. The leaves are turning brown at the edges, and the new shoots are looking pathetic.

I'm a techno nerd by trade, so please don't cringe at what I did. I took rubbing alcohol and cotton balls and gently wiped the guck away. It appears what I did helped, but I can see that it didn't solve my problem. I'm watching the other palm (in a different area of my home) like a hawk. I saw a couple of dots on it this morning. Does anyone know what is happening to my beautiful palms? Is there any hope to save them? What do I need to do? I am grateful for any suggestions!
  • fuzzy dots
    Posted by andi from bc Can. on 2006-01-13 02:25:00

Hi Maria,